Why am I seeing a storage warning?
Glean uses local storage to avoid data loss:
To ensure that all of your notes and recordings are saved correctly, even if you go offline, Glean temporarily stores Events locally on your device, as site data.
You will see the Critical Storage warning if Glean detects an issue which may prevent it from saving data locally:
You should take action before continuing to use Glean, to ensure none of your data is lost.
You do not need to delete your existing Glean Events
Deleting Events from Glean will also delete them from the cloud, and your Events will be irretrievably lost.
There are 2 reasons you may see a storage warning:
Your device is low on disk space.
Your browser settings are limiting the amount of storage space available to Glean:
You are trying to use Glean in a private browsing mode ('Incognito Mode' in Chrome).
The option to “delete cookies after you close Chrome” is enabled.
The troubleshooting guide below will help you identify what is triggering the storage warning, and what action you should take.
Are you trying to use Glean in private browsing mode?
Private browsing modes (such as Incognito Mode in Chrome) severely limit the storage available to web applications.
This could prevent your Glean recordings from being saved and uploaded properly.
When you close a private browser window, all site data is deleted. This could lead to an irretrievable loss of your Event data.
You will likely see the warning message as soon as you open Glean in private browsing mode.
If this is the case, simply re-open Glean in a normal browser window.
For more information, see our article on why you should avoid using Glean in private browsing mode.
Is the option to automatically delete cookies enabled?
The Critical Storage Issue message is triggered if you have enabled the option to “Clear cookies and site data when you quit Chrome”.
This option may prevent Glean from working properly, since it limits the storage available to Glean, and automatically deletes cookies and site data when you quit Chrome.
This means you'll be signed out of Glean, and any unsynced changes to your Events may be lost.
To check that you do not have this setting enabled:
- Launch Google Chrome on your computer.
- Enter the following URL in the address bar and hit Enter:
- This will bring up the Cookies and site data section.
- Check that the option “Clear cookies and site data when you quit Chrome” is turned off. (On older versions of Chrome, the option is named “Keep local data only until I quit my browser”)
- If this option is enabled, it will show a blue toggle.
- Click to turn the option off.
For more information, see the Google Chrome Help article: Clear, enable, and manage cookies in Chrome.
Is your device running out of storage space?
If you seeing this warning message and the browser settings detailed above don't apply, it may be that your device is almost out of storage space.
The message will give an estimate of how much storage you have available, and how much recording time this might be in Glean.
These are estimates only - you should take action as soon as possible to free up space so Glean can continue saving your Events correctly.
Need some pointers on freeing up disk space?
These external articles may help:
Free up drive space in Windows 10: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12425/windows-10-free-up-drive-space
How to free up storage space on your Mac: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT206996