Will I lose my Events if I clear my browsing data?
Glean and site data
Glean is a web app, but it has been designed to allow you to work both online and offline.
To do this, Glean saves Events locally on your device until they can be uploaded to the cloud.
Clear Browsing Data options in Google Chrome:
The "Clear browsing data" menu in Google Chrome provides 3 options:
1. Browsing History.
2. Cookies and other site data.
3. Cached images and files.
Clearing your browsing history and / or cached images and files should not impact your Glean Events in any way.
You should avoid clearing Cookies and other site data if you have any unsynced changes, since your Event data comes under 'other site data'.
Before clearing site data, check your connection and sync status
Always check your online connectivity and cloud sync status in Glean before clearing your browsing data.
Do not clear browsing data until Glean has synced your changes to the cloud.
You will see one of the following connectivity status icons in Glean's header bar:
All changes have been saved and synced to the cloud - it is safe to clear website data.
Do not clear website data until the upload completes.
You are offline. Any new changes to your Events cannot be synced to the cloud.
Do not clear website data if you have any Events which have unsynced changes (see "Event sync status" below).
Event sync status
Events which have not yet been fully synced to the cloud will display a cloud symbol.
Events with no cloud symbol have been fully synced.
Here's what you'll see if you're offline and have un-synced Events:
Here's what you'll see if you're online, and cloud sync is in progress: